A thank you from the organisers:
Alternating between Japan and Australia, the fourth symposium of this series was held in the Murdoch University campus (Perth, Australia) and focused on topics related to crop improvement, forest health, plant resources, and biosecurity. These symposia aim to foster an atmosphere of positive and friendly exchange, strengthening the international linkage and sharing of knowledge between Japan and Australia in the field of plant sciences. This symposium included 5 invited speakers from Japan and 8 invited speakers from Australia. In addition to the invited speakers and poster presentations, eight short talks were selected from submitted abstracts. To facilitate active and open interaction, attendance was limited to a maximum of 50 participants.

We sincerely thank all participants for their contribution to this symposium and for helping to make it a positive and enjoyable scientific exchange. There were some very interesting talks and judging from the general volume of conversation and subsequent positive feedback received, we are pleased to say that all aspects of the symposium went very well. We also thank the institutions and societies listed in the right panel for their support and encouragement. Special thanks to the staff and students of the Plant Biotechnology Research Group (Murdoch University) for their help and technical assistance that ensured the symposium ran smoothly.

Photos from the symposium are now available on the photos page. We look forward to seeing further expansion of research linkages between Japan and Australia, and to the next opportunity to meet again!

Derek Goto (Hokkaido University)
Mike Jones (Murdoch University)
Symposium Speakers [more info]:
Mark Adams (University of Sydney, Australia)
Tim Colmer (University of Western Australia, Australia)
Ian Edwards (Edstar Genetics, Australia)
Hiroo Fukuda (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Derek Goto (Hokkaido University, Japan)
Giles Hardy (Murdoch University, Australia)
Mike Jones (Murdoch University, Australia)
Masayoshi Kawaguchi (National Institute for Basic Biology, Japan)
Hans Lambers (University of Western Australia, Australia)
Graham O'Hara (Murdoch University, Australia)
Masaru Ohme-Takagi (Nat. Inst. Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan)
Takuya Suzaki (National Institute for Basic Biology, Japan)
Milos Tanurdzic (University of Queensland, Australia)

Supported by

site visits